“Two feet move our body. Four feet move our soul.”

JAN POLLEMA, M. ED.

JAN POLLEMA, M. ED.

Executive Director

Jan started as a volunteer with Hearts & Horses in 1997, becoming Executive Director in 2013. She feels it is an honor to lead such an amazing organization that makes a difference in the lives of so many!
jan@heartsandhorses.org

TAMARA MERRITT

TAMARA MERRITT

Associate Executive Director | PATH Intl. Instructor & Equine Specialist

Tamara has been working in the field of therapeutic riding since 1990 and feels privileged to play a role in helping change so many lives! The power that the horse has to transform lives continues to amaze her daily.
tamara@heartsandhorses.org

MICHELE KANE

MICHELE KANE

Program Director & Veterans Outreach Specialist | PATH Intl. Instructor

USMC Veteran, world traveler, mother of teenage son, dog, cat, 2 chickens and a horse. Book nerd, coffee snob! She is honored to be a part of this awesome team!
michele@heartsandhorses.org

LIZ DEKOCK

LIZ DEKOCK

Equine Manager | PATH Intl. Instructor & CHA Vaulting Coach

Liz, the Equine Manager, is passionate about the selection, training, care and welfare of the Hearts & Horses herd. She is also an Instructor and Interactive Vaulting Coach.
liz@heartsandhorses.org

EMMY SOYKA

EMMY SOYKA

Volunteer Manager

As volunteer coordinator Emmy is devoted to helping individuals and groups find the best fit with our programs and community. Emmy lives in Berthoud with her husband and spends her free time exploring the world, skiing, cooking, singing and dancing.
emmy@heartsandhorses.org

HARMONY STALLINGS

HARMONY STALLINGS

Business Manager/Accounting

Harmony is the beautiful face you rarely get to see, but is always working hard behind the scenes. Whenever she's not crunching numbers she's out helping where ever needed.
harmony@heartsandhorses.org

DON GILLESPIE

DON GILLESPIE

Facilities Manager

Don has a strong technical background and a heart for the less fortunate that he also shares with several other local nonprofit organizations in the Loveland community.
don@heartsandhorses.org

KIMBERLY AGUILAR-PAULI

KIMBERLY AGUILAR-PAULI

Office Manager

Kimberly Aguilar-Pauli has the vibrant personality everyone has come to love as the first thing every person encounters at Hearts & Horses. She loves bringing color and joy to everyone's day!
kimberly@heartsandhorses.org

MEGAN MCEACHRON

MEGAN MCEACHRON

Assistant Equine Manager | PATH Intl. Instructor

Megan loves the magic that horses hold so much that when she isn't at Hearts & Horses she can be found on her horse, Trooper, up in the mountains.
megan.m@heartsandhorses.org

WAYNE WARREN

WAYNE WARREN

Resident Equine Caretaker

Wayne did not grow up around horses, yet since working and taking care of the horses at Hearts & Horses he has come to realize the amazing work they do. He has never enjoyed a job as much as this one.
wayne@heartsandhorses.org

ALEX WHITTEY

ALEX WHITTEY

PATH Intl. Instructor

Alex is a passionate lifelong learner and loves to help people succeed and grow. She loves challenges and to travel so much that she should be given a personal GPS tracking device.
alex@heartsandhorses.org

BRENDA THOMPSON

BRENDA THOMPSON

PATH Intl. Instructor

Using the horse as a facilitator, Brenda creates a learning environment that taps into the riders' physical, mental and emotional growth.
brenda.t@heartsandhorses.org

RACHEL KARNEFFEL

RACHEL KARNEFFEL

PATH Intl. Instructor

Rachel is a PATH Certified Instructor who has been working in PATH programs for 16 years. She is passionate about helping her students succeed! She loves seeing smiles on the faces of her students every time she comes to work.
rachelk@heartsandhorses.org

DEB LINNE

DEB LINNE

PATH Intl. Instructor

Deb is an avid reader, writer, adventurer and horsewoman. She is passionate about life and learning and loves to pass along that passion to her students.
deb.l@heartsandhorses.org

ROSE WALSH, OTR, Therapist

ROSE WALSH, OTR, Therapist

PATH Intl. Instructor

Rose has been working as an occupational therapist at H&H since 2003 and loves the community, volunteers and families she works with along with ALL the four legged friends!
rehabconsult1@yahoo.com

LIZ AMPE, OTR, Therapist

LIZ AMPE, OTR, Therapist

PATH Intl. Instructor

Liz Ampe is an Occupational Therapist providing therapeutic services in the form of Hippotherapy. She loves being a part of the human-horse bond and seeing all global benefits this form of therapy delivers.
lbampe@gmail.com

LAUREN MCCLAVE, PT, Therapist

LAUREN MCCLAVE, PT, Therapist

PATH Intl. Instructor

Lauren provides hippotherapy services at Hearts and Horses, combining her life-long love of horses and her skills as a Physical Therapist in the best setting ever!
lauren@themcclaves.com

STEF VIKTORA-ANDERSON

STEF VIKTORA-ANDERSON

PATH Intl. Instructor

stef@heartsandhorses.org

NICOLETTE AHRENS

NICOLETTE AHRENS

PATH Intl. Instructor

Nicolette has a BS in Equestrian Science from William Woods University and an MS in Animal Science, Equine Nutrition from CSU. Her animal family includes two horses, two dogs and a cat. When she’s not with horses, she enjoys walking and biking, gardening and landscaping, quilting and crocheting and anything that gets her outside with her family.
nicolette@heartsandhorses.org

JESSIE BUTLER

JESSIE BUTLER

PATH Intl. Instructor

Jessie loves teaching so much, she spends her weeks going back and forth between 3 different barns teaching lessons! Each day, she is eager to embrace a new opportunity to learn from her students, horses, and co-workers!
jessibutler91@gmail.com

TINA ECKER

TINA ECKER

PATH Intl. Instructor

As an advanced instructor Tina knows first hand the power of the special bond between people and horses, which she feels allows a sense of accomplishment and an increase of self-confidence.
bridlebit2@aol.com

DIANE WALLIN

DIANE WALLIN

PATH Intl. Instructor (Summers)

diane@heartsandhorses.org

KATYE ZWIEFKA

KATYE ZWIEFKA

PATH Intl. Instructor

Katye is a combat veteran who turned to the field of social work upon her return. She is passionate about equine-assisted therapy and has seen the power that horses have in assisting her through her own healing process. She loves working with seniors, veterans and children.
kayte@heartsandhorses.org